Chairman Tom Foster opened the meetings of the Jonesborough Board of Zoning Appeals and the Jonesborough Planning Commission, Terry Countermine led the group in an opening Prayer, and Jim Rhein led the Pledge to the Flag.

JONESBOROUGH BOARD OF ZONING APPEALS

MINUTES

March 21, 2023

The Jonesborough Board of Zoning of Appeals met in regular meeting on Tuesday, March 21, 2023, at 6:00 p.m., in the Board Room at Town Hall, 123 Boone Street, Jonesborough, Tennessee.

Members Present: Tom Foster, Frank Collins, Terry Countermine, Richie Hayward,

Jim Rhein

<u>Members Absent</u>: Josh Conger, Bill Graham, Hal Knight, Nick Vest

Staff Present: Todd Wood, Town Engineer, Shawn Marshall, Building Inspector,

Donna Freeman

Chairman Tom Foster noted a quorum was present and called the meeting to order.

1. Approval of Minutes – Meeting of February 21, 2023

The minutes of the February 21, 2023 Board of Zoning Appeals meeting was presented for approval. Chairman Tom Foster asked Commissioners if they had any questions or corrections to the minutes. There being none, Terry Countermine made the motion to approve the minutes as presented, seconded by Jim Rhein, duly passed.

2. Request for a Variance a Monument Sign for The Cottages at Boones Creek, Jonesborough, TN, CSZ Properties, LLC, property owners

Developer: Jon Zervos

Sign Contractor: Foster Signs

Chairman Tom Foster announced that he would recuse himself from voting on the proposed sign.

Chairman Foster said the front of the sign will be Halo lit letters, the 76 square foot is the whole wall itself, and the actual sign is 48 square feet. Chairman Foster read the staff recommendation to approve the overall design of the monument sign at an estimated 72 square feet, and asked the Commissioners if they had any questions or comments. There were none.

Motion: Jim Rhein made the motion, seconded by Frank Collins, to approve the variance request for the monument sign for The Cottages at Boones Creek, as presented. Upon call of the roll, the following Commissioners voted Aye: Jim Rhein, Frank Collins, Terry Countermine, and Richie Hayward. Commissioners voting Nay: None. The motion was duly passed.

With there being no further business for discussion, Chairman Foster adjourned the meeting.